Debilitation


Thanks to Niki Feijen for the photograph.

I have a hearth of frozen memories
imprints of my imperfect world
unmoving shadows impersonating me
in my collection lies all my experience
beside it
all that was not
in this old age many nights sit I by the flame-less cavern
in solitude
comparing the two in skewed calculations
seeing my life in a world under muddy waters
surrounded by islands of if
I dare not light the fires to warm me
for the fear of drowning in my past

2 thoughts on “Debilitation

Leave a Reply

